Adventures of a Fangirl (YALLFest 2013)

YALLFest 2013 logoYALLFest 2013 happened this year on Saturday, November 9, 2013 in Charleston, South Carolina. This is the 3rd year for this festival and my 2nd year attending it. This year people came from all over. I met a mother and Daughter team that drove all the way from Michigan to stand in lines to get books signed from some awesome young adult authors. I too brought books from my bookshelf to be signed by authors but most of the books I left with I bought at the featured bookstore of the festival Blue Bicycle Books.

Here are a few highlights of the day (photo style)

This is the mailer that Blue Bicycle Books was passing out in their shop to promote YALLFest 2013. They happened to have extras as I walked in and picked one up.

2013-11-09 22.21.44

Standing in line early in the morning, wrapped around a building meeting people and loving it as I wait to listen to keynote speakers: Veronica Roth (Divergent) & Rae Carson (Fire & Thorns Trilogy).

2013-11-09 09.02.37 (1)

2013-11-09 10.40.27-1 (1)

Once in the building and seated I listened attentively to the authors speak on Girl Power, Boy Power: A Conversation with Veronica Roth (Divergent) and Rae Carson (The Girl of Fire and Thorns).

After listening to the keynote speakers I went out to get some books signed, here are some photos of those authors.

2013-11-09 13.21.18

The lovely newlyweds: Ransom Riggs & Tahereh Mafi signing and supporting.

2013-11-09 13.53.39

This photo is of the lovely Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds).

2013-11-09 12.11.46

Here is Veronica Roth (Divergent) signing my copy (I brought from home)

P1010914

Author Nancy Holder (Wolf Springs Chronicles). She is the author of many more books I just picked up Unleashed on this day.

P1010916 P1010915

Marie Lu (Legend). she is so pretty and super nice! She is signing my copy of Legend I brought from home.

P1010912

Kami Garcia signing her first stand alone series, Unbreakable. Previously she co-wrote the Beautiful Creatures series with Margaret Stohl.

Lynn Shaw_Christy Sloat 1239704_322166304587943_884143048_n

In the first photo Lynn is standing with author Christy Sloat and the second photo is Lynn & I standing with author and CEO of Anchor Group Publishing Stacey Rourke

2013-11-09 22.08.56

**And here is the books and swag I received throughout the day. **

Overall, the event was fun. I recently found out that YALLFest 2014 will be a 2 day event and this makes me very happy because the first year that I went I was able to go to panels and meet authors and get books signed. This year however, other than the keynote speakers I was not able to go listen to any panels for fear or missing out on an author signing. I hope the 2 days fixes this dilemma.

~posted by LeAnn

Leave a Reply

