Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

ceecee

Author: Beth Hoffman
Website: http://bethhoffman.net/
Paperback, 254 pages
Published January 12th 2010 by Penguin Audio

A friend loaned me this book and even though the description did not grab me at first, I gave it shot anyway. I am so glad that I did. I found the main character, CeeCee to be so relatable. I felt her pain and struggle throughout the book. Only a few chapters in, I found myself crying when she had to say goodbye to her only friend/neighbor. The story opens with us meeting CeeCee and finding out her father works out-of-town a lot, her mom is the town joke due to her mental state, CeeCee is shuned and bullied for this and her only friend in the world is her elderly neighbor. My first thought was that this would be a depressing book and I really did not want finish it. Again, so glad that I did. Circumstances lead to CeeCee moving to Savannah, Georgia to live with her Aunt. Here we meet all sorts of interesting family and neighbors who all have a positive impact on CeeCee. We get too she CeeCee grow by meeting new people and exploring the city and surrounding towns. I found myself cheering CeeCee on and wanting her to succeed. Normally I read to escape and to be put myself in a new world so I don’t read a lot in this genre but this book spoke to me. I could relate my own childhood experiences with CeeCee and found myself looking for her happy ending right along with her. I would highly recommend this book. Once I got into it, I could not put it down.

3 thoughts on “Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

  1. This is a wonderful surprise. Thank you so much for your lovely review of my novel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed CeeCee’s story and I appreciate your kind words!

Leave a Reply

